Learning Center

Eligible States

How does the life settlement marketplace work?

The life settlement marketplace is regulated state-by-state. Where life settlements are regulated, currently 42 states and Puerto Rico, the state insurance department oversees the licensing and conduct of companies in the business. Q Capital is pursuing licensing in all jurisdictions where required. The map below outlines where Q Capital is currently accepting new cases for review.

Please click on your state on the map to download a life settlement application to submit a case to us. See state details below.

Alabama Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Washington D.C. Delaware Florida Georgia

Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan

Mississippi Missouri


New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas

Virginia Washington Wisconsin


Map Legend:

  • Q Capital is Licensed
  • LSS is Licensed
  • No License is Currently Required
  • Q Capital/LSS NOT Licensed

Q Capital is licensed or registered to purchase policies in 32 states – Arkansas, Arizona, California (through its sister company LSS), Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia (through its sister company LSS), Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas (through its sister company LSS), Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma (through its sister company LSS), Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin. Q Capital also purchases policies in an additional eight states and jurisdictions where no license is required or Q Capital’s license application is pending – Alabama, Michigan, Missouri, New Mexico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Wyoming, and District of Columbia. Q Capital is not licensed in following states, but we can put you in touch with a company that is: Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia.

See our comprehensive article on life settlements here to learn more.